The Faithbook

A place of writing and reflection…

A Soldier’s Night Before Christmas

christmas

‘Twas the night before Christmas, and he lived all alone

In a one bedroom house made of plaster and stone.

I had come down the chimney with presents to give

And to see just whom in this home did live.

 

I looked all about and a strange sight did I see

No tinsel, no presents, not even a tree.

No stocking by the mantle, just boots filled with sand

On the wall hung pictures of a far distant land.

 

With medals and badges, awards of all kinds

 

A sober thought came to my mind

For this house was different, dark and dreary

It was the house of a soldier, I now could see clearly.

 

The soldier lay sleeping, silent, alone

Curled up on the floor in this one bedroom home.

The face was so gentle, the room in disorder

Not how I pictured a United States soldier.

 

Was this the hero of whom I had read?

Curled up on a poncho, the floor for a bed?

I realized the families I saw on this night

Owed their lives to this soldier who was willing to fight.

 

Soon ‘round the world the children would play

And grown-ups would celebrate a bright Christmas day.

They all enjoyed freedom, each month of the year

Because of the soldiers like the one laying here.

 

I couldn’t help wonder how many lay alone

On a cold Christmas Eve in a land from home.

The very thought brought a tear to my eye

And I dropped to my knees and started to cry.

 

The soldier awakened and I heard a rough voice

”Santa, don’t cry, this life is my choice.

I fight for freedom, I don’t ask for more

My life is my God, my Country, my Corps.”

 

The soldier rolled over and drifted to sleep

And I couldn’t control it, I started to weep.

I kept watch for hours, so silent and still

And we both shivered from the cold night’s chill.

 

I didn’t want to leave on that cold, dark night

This Guardian of Honor so willing to fight.

The soldier rolled over and with a voice soft and pure

Whispered, “Carry on, Santa, it’s Christmas Day, all is secure.”

 

One look at my watch and I knew he was right

Merry Christmas, my friend, and to all a Good Night.

 

—Author Unknown

The Faithbook 2013
Story Curtesy of godslittleacre.net

5 comments on “A Soldier’s Night Before Christmas

  1. Naphtali
    Dec 23, 2013

    Wow…this hits home for us. We live less than 5 miles from one of the largest AF Fighter Jet/Bombing bases in the world. We are in the minority here because the base is huge but getting to know how they live has changed me. The stories they tell or maybe the ones they don’t are timeless and humbling. My heroes.

    • The FaithBook
      Dec 23, 2013

      So true. I have several friends who serve or have served our country to keep our freedom. It’s not easy to be in their place or do the things our soldiers do. Our country could use a little more appreciation for all they do.

      • Naphtali
        Dec 23, 2013

        Glad you mentioned that. We have discovered many are afraid of what people think especially in the last few years. However, around here if anyone speaks against them, they might want to head for the border real quick.

      • The FaithBook
        Dec 23, 2013

        Yes it is. So long as you’re making fun of anyone Christian, conservative, or right wing, you’re fine. The left wing liberalism has taken over and gained much ground over traditional morals once held of value. Men prefer their own comfort and preferences and everyone must accept it though it be outside the “traditional” norm. Even more so now the push is not just to accept it but to openly participate as well. It may be the harshness of reality warned about, but we must stand strong. If our soldiers can do it, so can we.

  2. Naphtali
    Dec 23, 2013

    Reblogged this on Did Jesus have a Facebook Page? and commented:
    In honor of our troops…

Leave a Reply

#pray4thepersecuted

Photo curtesy of Gotquestions.org

In Mosul, ISIS militants marked with a spray-painted ن (the Arabic letter for “N”) all Christian property to be seized after the ultimatum. “N”, or ن , is the first letter of the Arabic word for Christian, “Nasrani” or Nazarene. #pray4thepersecuted

GodsDreamer on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

