The Faithbook

A place of writing and reflection…

The Choice Between God and No God

1331639_38585704“This poem was written by a Vietnam veteran after an experience in a shell hole with rockets and mortars coming in. He had apparently lost contact with God, and that night he made his decision between God and no God … he made the right choice as you will see by this poem he wrote. I had a similar experience when I arrived in Vietnam. I have altered this poem to fit my experience.”

 Lord God, it’s been a while since I’ve talked to you, but now I want to say how do you do. You see God, they tried to tell me you didn’t exist, but I knew better than this. Last night behind sandbags with rockets and mortars flying all over the place, I got a glimpse of your sky, and I knew right then they had told me a lie. Had I taken time to see the things you’d made, I would have known they weren’t calling a spade a spade.

I wonder God if you’ll take my hand. Somehow I know you’ll understand. Funny I had to come to this hellish place before I had time to see your face. Well I guess there’s not much more to say, but lord God, I’m sure glad I met you today. Oh, God. I’ll have to go. I like you lots, I want you to know. Look now, this will be a horrible night. Who knows? I may come to your house tonight, though I wasn’t friendly to you before. I wonder God if you’d wait at your door. Look, I’m crying. I’m shedding tears. I’ll have to go now, God … Goodbye. Strange now since I met you I’m not afraid to die!

– Ben Fair
Vietnam veteran
Tet offensive, 1968

The Faithbook 2015
Entry by Ben Fair Curtesy of The Times and Democrat.

Leave a Reply

#pray4thepersecuted

Photo curtesy of Gotquestions.org

In Mosul, ISIS militants marked with a spray-painted ن (the Arabic letter for “N”) all Christian property to be seized after the ultimatum. “N”, or ن , is the first letter of the Arabic word for Christian, “Nasrani” or Nazarene. #pray4thepersecuted

GodsDreamer on Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

